#unserBerlHG | Our Berlin Higher Education Act

The Berlin Higher Education Act is being reformed. Education. Democracy. Diversity

Despite the contact ban and corona crisis, we would like to draw your attention to the fact that the Berlin government has been working on a new Berlin Higher Education Act (BerlHG) for some time. We have not been idle and have networked throughout Berlin.

Together with the other Student Committees in Berlin, we have been working on this topic for one and a half years and have presented a list of demands from the perspective of the students last summer. In this way we try to bring our topics and our perspective to the political arena. Our core demand: Finally take us seriously. We students know what we need in our studies. We also know best how racism, sexism & co. affect us or our fellow students in teaching and beyond and which tools and offers of assistance we need.

The Berlin Higher Education Act currently regulates almost all the basic principles on which the university is organized and with which our studies work - e.g. university admission, study conditions, examination law, but also democratic participation and protection against discrimination. Now there is a chance to improve our life at the university. You can find the demands we have worked out so far under this link:

https://www.lak-berlin.de/ubersicht-berlhg-novelle/

Our fear, however, especially in situation of crisis, is that, due to constraints, the BerlHG will not be modernized enough to meet the requirements of the new decade. That is why we want to put pressure on those responsible to ensure that this window of opportunity for the new regulation is not missed and that the necessary changes enter into force in good time. Now is the time to make it clear to the Senate and the Members of Parliament what we as students need in order to obtain a good education!

For this purpose we will publish demands under the hashtag #unserBerlHG (our BerlHG) these days, because it is our studies that are regulated by the Berlin Higher Education Act. We invite you to use this hashtag for your wishes and problems at the university. Write to the Secretary of State and the members of parliament why we need change now and why we shouldn't wait another 10 years. As students, we know many problems from our normal everyday life at the university.

 

This article is part of the AStA-Newsletter April 2020

Please find the years review here and the information regarding the covid19-pandemic here.

#unserBerlHG

Das Berliner Hochschulgesetz wird reformiert. Bildung. Demokratie. Diversität
Trotz Kontaktsperre und Coronakrise möchten wir euch darauf aufmerksam machen, dass die Landesregierung seit einiger Zeit an einem neuen Berliner Hochschulgesetz (BerlHG) werkelt. Wir als AStA waren nicht untätig und haben uns berlinweit vernetzt.
 
Gemeinsam mit den anderen ASten in Berlin arbeiten wir seit anderthalb Jahren an dem Thema und haben dazu schon im letzten Sommer einen Forderungskatalog aus Sicht der Studierendenschaften auf den Tisch gelegt. Auf diese Weise versuchen wir unsere Themen und unsere Perspektive an die Politik zu tragen. Unsere Kernforderung: Nehmt uns endlich ernst. Wir Studierende wissen, was wir in unserem Studium brauchen. Genauso wissen wir am besten, wie Rassismus, Sexismus & co. in der Lehre sich auf uns oder unsere Kommiliton*innen auswirken und welche Werkzeuge und Hilfsangebote wir an dieser Stelle brauchen.
 
Das Berliner Hochschulgesetz regelt zur Zeit fast alle Grundlagen, auf denen die Hochschule organisiert ist und mit denen unser Studium besser oder schlechter funktioniert - z.B. Hochschulzugang, Studienbedingungen, Prüfungsrecht aber auch demokratische Teilhabe und der Schutz vor Diskriminierung. Jetzt gibt es die Chance, unser Leben an der Hochschule zu verbessern. Die Forderungen, die wir bisher ausgearbeitet haben, findet ihr unter diesem Link:
 
 
Unsere Befürchtung gerade in dieser Krisensituation ist allerdings, dass aus vermeintlichen Sachzwängen eine Modernisierung des BerlHG an die Anforderungen des neuen Jahrzehnts verschlafen wird. Deswegen wollen wir Druck auf die Verantwortlichen ausüben, damit das Zeitfenster für die Neuregelung nicht verpasst wird und die nötigen Änderungen rechtzeitig in Kraft treten. Jetzt ist der Zeitpunkt dem Senat und den Abgeordneten nochmal zu verdeutlichen, was wir als Studierende brauchen, um ein gutes Studium zu erhalten!
 
Dazu werden wir in diesen Tagen unter dem Hashtag #unserBerlHG Forderungen veröffentlichen, denn es ist unser Studium, das im Berliner Hochschulgesetz geregelt wird. Wir laden euch ein, diesen Hashtag auch für eure Wünsche  und Probleme an der Hochschule zu nutzen. Schreibt dem Staatssekretär und den Abgeordneten, warum wir welche Änderung jetzt brauchen und nicht noch weitere 10 Jahre warten sollten. Denn wir als Studierende kennen viele Probleme dann doch am besten aus unserem ganz normalen Hochschulalltag.
 
Dieser Beitrag ist im Rahmen des AStA-Newsletter vom April 2020 erschienen
Der Jahresrückblick 2019/20 und Informationen zur Coronavirus-Pandemie sind hier verlinkt.