29.05.2020 | Press Release covering the end of „Cafete“

Tomorrow, Friday, 29.5.2020, the cafete's operating team will clear out the student managed café in the Biology Department. The three science policy spokespersons of the coalition will accompany the temporary end of this freedom in Königin-Luise-Straße 12 - 16a from 12 noon on.

At today's meeting, the student parliament expressed its solidarity with the student café, which was occupied during the student protests of 1976/77. "The StuPa is calling on Freie Universität to prevent this demolition and to allow the long-term preservation of the historically valuable building." states the resolution passed today. [translation by AStA]

Together with the Cafete and the student parliament, the General Students' Committee is working to preserve existing self-administered rooms and cafes and joins the demands for an amicable solution with the student body.

In the event that the Cafete is indeed demolished, the resolution, which was introduced to the student parliament from the list "Biology - You can see there is fruit in the house," demands "that a monument to the history of student protest at Freie Universität be erected at this location in close cooperation with the student body." [translation by AStA]

29.05.2020 | Pressemitteilung zur Räumung des Studierendencafés „Cafete“

Am morgigen Freitag, 29.5.2020, wird das Betreiber*innenteam der Cafete das studentisch verwaltete Café in der Biologie räumen. Das vorläufige Ende dieses Freiraums in der Königin-Luise-Straße 12 – 16a werden die drei wissenschaftspolitischen Sprecher*innen der Koalition ab 12 Uhr begleiten.

Das Studierendenparlament solidarisierte sich auf der heutigen Sitzung mit dem Studierendencafé, das während der studentischen Proteste 1976/77 besetzt wurde. „Das StuPa fordert die Freie Universität auf, diesen Abriss zu verhindern und langfristig den Erhalt des historisch wertvollen Einbaus zu ermöglichen.“ heißt es in der heute verabschiedeten Resolution.

Der Allgemeine Studierendenausschuss setzt sich zusammen mit der Cafete und dem Studierendenparlament für den Erhalt von bestehenden selbstverwalteten Räumen und Cafés ein und schließt sich den Forderungen nach einer einvernehmlichen Lösung mit der Studierendenschaft an.

Für den Fall des Abrisses der Cafete fordert die Resolution, die von der Liste „Biologie – Man sieht, es ist Obst im Haus!“ in das Studierendenparlament eingebracht wurde „dass an dieser Stelle ein Denkmal für die Geschichte von studentischen Protest an der Freien Universität in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Studierendenschaft entsteht.“

Kategorien